Governments must plan for migration in response to climate change, researchers say

 
October 28, 2011LONDONIf global temperatures increase by only a few of degrees by 2100, as predicted by the U.N. Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, people around the world will be forced to migrate. But transplanting populations from one location to another is a complicated proposition that has left millions of people impoverished in recent years. The researchers say that a word of caution is in order and that governments should take care to understand the ramifications of forced migration. “Sometimes the problem is simply a lack of regard for the people ostensibly in the way of progress,” said Oliver-Smith, an emeritus professor who has researched issues surrounding forced migration for more than 30 years. But resettlements frequently fail because the complexity of the task is underestimated. “Transplanting a population and its culture from one location to another is a complex process — as complicated as brain surgery,” he said. A consortium of 12 scientists from around the world, including two UF researchers, gathered last year at the Rockefeller Foundation’s Bellagio Center to review 50 years of research related to population resettlement following natural disasters or the installation of infrastructure development projects such as dams and pipelines. The group determined that resettlement efforts in the past have left communities in ruin, and that policy makers need to use lessons from the past to protect people who are forced to relocate because of climate change. “The effects of climate change are likely to be experienced by as many people as disasters,” UF anthropologist Anthony Oliver-Smith said. “More people than ever may be moving in response to intense storms, increased flooding and drought that makes living untenable in their current location.”Physics.org
Book quote: “To survive what‘s before us; we’ll have to take a note from the animals- mass seasonal migrations to flee the areas of the Earth that will become increasingly inhospitable from the extremes of climate change…extreme winters, partial glaciations, blistering temperatures from a runaway global heating trend and a chaotic Sun on the precipice of convulsion will render life in many regions of the world unbearable.” –The Extinction Protocol, page 9
This entry was posted in Civilizations unraveling, Climate unraveling, Dark Ages, Earth Changes, Earth Watch, Environmental Threat, Extreme Weather Event, Forecast book quotation. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Governments must plan for migration in response to climate change, researchers say

  1. Nikki says:

    Anyone who has read Jean Raspail’s controversial but brilliant and devastatingly truthful (and apparently prescient) “Camp of the Saints” is having chills right now after reading this article. I’m really beginning to fear the kind of world my children will grow up to inherit. 😦

    Like

  2. JohntheBaptist Generation says:

    Then the governments of this world will not turn to God still but to the devices of their own making. We can see how Agenda 21 will be installed as the only way. Come soon Lord Jesus! We will prepare your way!!!!!

    Like

  3. Raven says:

    Alvin I am struggling to put your book down! It is like an encyclopedia of information on not only Earth Changes but so much more!! All I can say is I can not get through it fast enough and I am like a sponge absorbing more and more crucial insight at this time. Blessings to you and thank you for this book! I only wish I had been able to begin it earlier, but I suppose I am reading it at the time I am meant… Thank you!!
    Raven

    Like

  4. I have been reading about earth changes long before I started reading your site, although I have learned so much more since coming here. I believe that many of these changes are cyclical and people have been migrating for thousands of years. Although there are climate changes, I see this move as a way for our governments to control where we are to live if we decide to migrate.

    Here in the United States, I have been following two bills that were introduced in recent years. SB 1619 Livable Communities Act of 2009 and HR 4690 Livable Communities Act of 2010. I knew that the 2009 one didn’t get very far then noticed that is reappeared on the docket the following year. This one didn’t get very far either. Makes me wonder how long it will take before they start believing the hype. The idea of being “forced” by my government frightens me. If I would have to migrate, I would prefer to have it my own decision if and where I and therefore live with the consequences.

    Now I know that we are now close to having 7 billion people on this planet, and I know that many of these people who do not have the knowledge, or access to that knowledge, that we have. I also believe that many of these people are being suppressed by corrupt governments who do not help these people gain some knowledge so the government can maintain control.

    I ask for forgiveness for my rambling on here. Maybe I’m just a conspiracy theorist and should maintain a good supply of tin foil hats, but this is my opinion.

    All that being said, my faith is in my Lord Jesus, and I do believe He is coming back very soon. And being secure in my faith, I will still sleep well tonight.

    Maranatha

    Like

  5. RainMan says:

    What a reality check that photo is of people walking through that narrow gorge. It raises the bar on my own attitude toward the materialist ideals and the comforts of life I have become so accustomed to and not realising the full extent of the grief around me. I can not begin to fathom the hardships of others. I personaly feel guilty sitting at my laptop, on my verhanda, knowing my fridge is full, my car is serviced, and yet can do nothing to help.

    ‘If you think you know everything, you then know nothing” Unknown quote.

    Like

    • Ronni says:

      Rainman,
      I know exactly how you feel. It is so easy to take for granted all the things we have. Even the thought of a power outage……it would change EVERYTHING. Here are my thoughts on this: 1st, enjoy what you have while you can. 2nd, stay aware of what is happening everywhere, it does make a difference in how you live your life and treat others. 3rd, pray for these people, and all the others going through hardships right now. One day it will be us.

      Like

      • RainMan says:

        Ronni
        Thanks for your positive and kind thoughts.
        One day it may be us and nourishing your Soul will cost you nothing but a little of your time.

        Like

  6. Jocelyn says:

    I’m not any religion. I’m not for “ME” I’m for “WE”. But the truth is – “We” is going to be a rarely used word when everything (as we know it) ends – it will be a word used the same way as we use “family” – probably, it will be used only in direct connection to something family-related — “we” will become an expensive commodity in itself. Prayers – Positive Energy – whatever you want to term your well-wishes towards these people you cannot physically assist – those wishes/prayers/thoughts/energy – they *help*.. and if you’re a practical person, I can even give you a practical reason why they do. Now, this might be my babies site and acct so I want to say – this is my opinion – not his – and I speak only for me, the GF, who always reads this stuff and never makes her own acct.

    With that precursor in mind : The reason Little Stupid $ht Matters So Much – 1) When you see The Big Picture and are helpless to help where you wish you could – it inspires you to want to help *somewhere* doing *something* to help *someone* – it’s that frustrated good-guy syndrome. This usually means you might think twice before sneering at the homeless guy down the street (in todays world he might have owned a better home than you a month ago!) and maybe you buy him a breakfast sandwich while your gas pumps .. maybe that homeless guy remembers a time when he believed in the world and he saves someone getting fkd with later who ends up being important on a global scale.. you can see where I’m heading with all this bs I’m sure. As cliche and weird and just plainly idiotic it sounds – I really do believe if we do enough small stuff maybe it adds up to one huge change and the whole ‘Pay it Forward’ (I’ve been doing this since before the movie but from what I hear they had it mostly right) idea could possibly be what changes enough people to go that one extra mile where when it all adds up it gets us where we need to be.. I dunno.

    I do this – I do small things along the way where I don’t even have to apply specific time to volunteering — just little stuff like pulling over for someone broke down because you can see they’ve not got a cell phone on them (aka : their hood is popped and they’ve got that “I can do this! Oh please let me be able to do this! *quietsob*” expression as they goggle eye the engine from a safe distance) and you know the next bluebox is two miles down heavy freeway.. if it’s busy and not some Psycho-Looking setup absolutely I’m stopping. And I’m a woman who’s 31, 145lbs and 5’7- I’m not graceful.. nope.. not even semi. I just figure I’d rather go out trying my best to help this world and our people if it all *does* go badly for us than die trying to forget every person who’s ever helped *me* so I can sleep guilt-free. I hope I can bring my children through this crisis. I have my doubts and nightmares. I hope someone who thinks this way helps them if I can’t one day. And I hope we all get through this and it changes things for us in ways that are positive, too.

    Like

    • RainMan says:

      Jocelyn
      You have obviously ‘Pay it Forward’ to many.
      A lot of people think as you do and if ‘What Goes Around, Comes Around’, you and your children will be fine.
      In my personal experience, that is the nature of kindness.

      Like

  7. Baynne says:

    Hi there,

    I happened to come across this website while doing a general search on the topic.
    Good to see that some people have there heads screwed on right for a change as everyone else is so quick to dismiss what is happening around them. It’s amazing how people are carrying on as they have been and are so quick to simply dismiss the warning signs for what is to come. It has happened to our civilisations for eons and like previous cities and communities it is about to happen once more. Our past has been hidden from us and this gives everyone a false sense of security and self importance in a world filled with turmoil and uncertainty. I urge anyone who happens to also come across this website to take 10 minutes and reflect on recent events and open their eyes to the coming problems which are to follow. Please prepare yourself and God Bless.

    Like

All comments are moderated. We reserve the right not to post any comment deemed defamatory, inappropriate, or spam.