Super-Typhoon lashes South Taiwan leaving thousands without power

merantic-typhoon
September 2016TAIPEI, TaiwanRecord-breaking winds and heavy rains disrupted transport today as Super-Typhoon Meranti cut a path across southern Taiwan and headed toward China. Toppled trees and storefront signs were strewn about a thoroughfare in Kenting National Park’s Hengchun Township, images on Taipei-based Sanlih E-Television showed. Wind speeds of 52.2 meters per second (117 miles per hour) were the fastest since record-keeping began in 1896, according to the Taipei-based Apple Daily. Schools, offices and markets remained open in the capital of Taipei.
The super-typhoon comes just before a four-day weekend in Taiwan beginning Thursday, marking the Mid-Autumn Festival holiday. Most flights in and out of the southern port city of Kaohsiung were canceled, according to the Civil Aeronautics Administration. The Taiwan Railways Administration suspended train service for routes in the south and east, while schools and offices in the areas were closed. Cathay Pacific Ltd. canceled eight flights between Hong Kong and Kaohsiung, according to its website. EVA Airways Corp. also canceled at least eight flights in or out of Kaohsiung.

Taiwan Power Co., the state-run utility, estimated as many as 78,000 homes lost power as of Wednesday morning. Meranti’s winds gusted as fast as 163 miles per hour as of 9 a.m., according to the Central Weather Bureau. The storm was moving northwest at 11 miles per hour.  –Bloomberg

Climate Extremes

This entry was posted in Catastrophic Insurance losses mount, Civilizations unraveling, Climate unraveling, Cloudburst storms with flashflooding, Cyclone or Hurricane, Deluge from torrential rains, Earth Changes, Earth Watch, Extreme Weather Event, Flooding, Gale-force winds and gusts, High-risk potential hazard zone, Infrastructure collapse, Potential Earthchange hotspot, Prophecies referenced, Record rainfall, Strange high tides & freak waves, Time - Event Acceleration. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Super-Typhoon lashes South Taiwan leaving thousands without power

  1. tonic says:

    JERRY LEE LEWIS LYRICS

    “HAUNTED HOUSE?”

    I just moved in my new house today
    Moving was hot but I got squared away
    Bells started ringing and chains rattled loud
    I knew I’d moved in a haunted house

    Still I made up in my mind to stay
    Nothing was a gonna drive me away
    When I seen something that gave me the creep
    Had a one big eye and two big feet

    I stood right still and I did the freeze
    And he did the stroll right up to me
    Made a sound with his feet like a drum
    Saying, “You’ll be here when the morning comes”

    Say, “Yes,I’ll be here when the morning comes
    I’ll be right here and I ain’t gonna run
    I bought this house, now you know I’m boss
    Ain’t no haunt gonna run me off”

    In the kitchen, my stove wad a blazing hot
    The coffee was a boiling in the pot
    The grease had melted in my pan
    I had a hunk of meat in my hand

    From out of space,there sat a man
    On a hot stove was pots and pans
    Say, that’s hot, I began to shout
    He drank a hot coffee from the spout

    He ate the raw meat right from my hand
    Drank the hot grease from the frying pan
    He said to me, “Now you better run
    And don’t be here when the morning comes”

    Say, “Yes, I’ll be here when the morning comes
    I’ll be right here and I ain’t gonna run
    I bought this house, now you know I’m boss
    Ain’t no haunt gonna run me off”

    So when does morning come?

    Like

All comments are moderated. We reserve the right not to post any comment deemed defamatory, inappropriate, or spam.

