65: Mount Soputan volcano erupts in central Indonesia

September 18, 2012JAKARTA, Indonesia One of Indonesia’s most active volcanoes has erupted, shooting ash and smoke nearly 1 1/2 kilometers (one mile) into the sky. State volcanology official Kristianto says Mount Soputan on central Indonesia’s Sulawesi Island erupted Tuesday afternoon. Kristianto, who uses one name, says there is no plan for an immediate evacuation since the nearest villages are outside the danger area of about 6.5 kilometers (4 miles) from the crater. Mount Soputan is about 1,350 miles (2,160 kilometers) northeast of Jakarta. It last erupted in July last year, causing no casualties. Indonesia straddles the “Pacific Ring of Fire,” an arc of volcanoes and fault lines around the Pacific Basin. It has more active volcanoes than any other nation. Another mountain, Gamalama, erupted last week on the Molucca Islands. –Huffington Post
This entry was posted in Civilizations unraveling, Earth Changes, Earth Watch, Earthquake Omens?, High-risk potential hazard zone, Magma Plume activity, Potential Earthchange hotspot, Seismic tremors, Time - Event Acceleration, Volcanic Eruption, Volcano Watch. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 65: Mount Soputan volcano erupts in central Indonesia

  1. KEN says:

    I MISSED Y OU , THANKS FOR COMING BACK

    Like

    • Lisa says:

      Alvin, I’m with Ken here. I don’t know where you live, which you probably don’t want people to know. I am afraid I am a born “worrier”, praying often for this terrible problem. I know most of it is a “mom thing”, but it has gotten worse with age. (I keep telling myself that I must not be putting my faith in God as I should be!) Anyway….when we don’t hear from you for a bit, that “mom worrier” hits me again! Hope you are alright.
      Many blessings,
      Lisa

      Like

      • Yes, Lisa…just exceptionally busy. Lots of interviews as we get closer to the end of 2012—- interest has more than peaked. I’m glad to hear you’re thinking about me and that’s always comforting to know. All is well.

        God bless,
        Alvin

        Like

    • Paula says:

      I was not sure if you meant me or the volcano, but either way it made me smile

      Like

  2. Paula says:

    Interesting how upheaval of all sorts is becoming the new normal. The Sun has three new solar wind streams hitting the earth as well in the next three days and the theory is that these energies increase vulcanism, earthquakes and …. emotional upheaval as well. We have to find the Peace within and from heaven above and offer it to others having a harder time. Love to all.

    Like

  3. Montana Jim says:

    That is very interesting. By far I think that picture is more amazing.

    Like

  4. FPS_Derp says:

    HAHHAHAHHAHAHAHHHHH

    We’ve already said this in advance,AND HERE IT IS,HAPPENING NOW!!!!

    Soon ALL THE OTHER VOLCANOS WILL FOLLOW!

    YEAH!

    I,well,WE TOLD YOU SO.

    Like

All comments are moderated. We reserve the right not to post any comment deemed defamatory, inappropriate, or spam.

